

MEDIA RELEASE 14 December 2021

MEN'S AND WOMEN'S UCI WORLD TEAM RIDERS ANNOUNCED TO COMPETE IN THE 2022 SANTOS FESTIVAL OF CYCLING

Three past winners, ten UCI WorldTour riders and four UCI WorldTour Teams in total are set to join the Santos Festival of Cycling peloton which will ride its way through Adelaide and regional South Australia this coming January.

Riding for Team Garmin Australia will be Grace Brown, Richie Porte and Luke Plapp while Australia's Team BikeExchange-JAYCO will have six of its World Tour riders including Alex Manly, Ruby Roseman-Gannon, Georgia Baker, Luke Durbridge and Cameron Meyer.

Two-time Santos Tour Down Under (TDU) winner Richie Porte, who in 2020 finished third at the Tour de France, will join the 2022 roster in an attempt to retain his King of the Mountain crown for Willunga Hill during the Be Safe Be Seen Men's Stage 3.

Also joining the peloton is Olympic bronze medallist and 2015 TDU winner Rohan Dennis and Chris Harper, both returning to their home state of South Australia to compete under the Team Jumbo Visma's colours at the 2022 event.

Santos Festival of Cycling Men's Race Director, Stuart O'Grady, said he was thrilled the global cycling program will once again kick off in South Australia, with a stellar lineup of the world's best cycling athletes confirmed.

"South Australians and visiting cycling fans alike will this year have the opportunity to not only watch Australia's best domestic cyclists but also a great selection of World Team riders bringing together a strong peloton for the 2022 Santos Festival of Cycling," said O'Grady.

"The inclusion of Grace, Richie and Luke in Australia's national team will provide a wonderful opportunity for Australia's next generation of champions – predominantly under 19 and first year under 23 riders – to mix with and learn from Australia's current stars."

"Many of the riders are now returning home to Australia after touring the European cycling program in 2021 to reunite with family and friends and to prepare for the 21-29 January event in Adelaide," continued O'Grady.



Grace Brown won first place earlier this year in the 2021 Brugge De-Panne, a WorldTour race and premier event on the Classic Calendar in Europe, becoming the first ever Australian female rider to achieve this accolade.

The Santos Festival of Cycling Women's Race Director Kimberley Conte says the level of competition is an exciting start to the cycling year.

"As the first race in the Southern Hemisphere and the first race on the National Road Series event calendar, the new challenges and dynamic stages added to the 2022 Santo Festival of Cycling program will no doubt test the levels of the World Tour riders".

Garmin, the global leader in GPS cycling computers and indoor trainers, is proud to support Australian cycling as a major partner of the Santos Festival of Cycling and sponsor of Team Garmin-Australia.

"We can't wait to see the team out racing in January," said General Manager, Garmin Australasia, Matthew Thomas.

The 2022 Santos Festival of Cycling begins on Friday 21 January and is set to deliver a dynamic schedule of elite cycling activity and an array of atmospheric events across a nine-day action-packed program.

"We look forward to beaming Santos Festival of Cycling footage to the global cycling community, while encouraging South Australians and visitors alike to get involved with the excitement across the nine days," said Executive Director Events South Australia, Hitaf Rasheed.

-Ends-

The full list of riders will be confirmed in the coming weeks.

For WorldTour rider profiles and more information, visit www.tourdownunder.com.au

Talent interviews:

Richie Porte, Grace Brown

Spokespeople:

Men's Race Director Stuart O'Grady, Women's Race Director Kimberley Conte Executive Director – Events South Australia Hitaf Rasheed.

For media enquiries and talent and spokespeople interview requests related to the Santos Festival of Cycling, please contact: SOCIETY

Tess Martin | tess@societymarcom.com | 0421 701 469

Sophie Chant | sophie@societymarcom.com | 0434 104 502



APPENDIX OF WORLD TOUR RIDERS

WOMENS:

Grace Brown

Formerly of Team BikeExchange, now with FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope 4th in the Tokyo Olympics Time Trial Will ride for Team Garmin Australia (National team) @ SFOC 2022 **Georgia Baker** Rides for UCI World Team BikeExchange - JAYCO Olympic Track Rider From NZ, represents NZ at both the Olympics and Commonwealth Games on the Track

Alex Manly

Rides for WT Bike Exchange 2019 Team Pursuit World Champion, and former Junior World Champion.

Ruby Roseman-Gannon

Rides for WT Team BikeExchange

Turned heads at last year's SFoC as an NRS rider is new to the Bike Exchange Team with a professional World Tour Contract

MENS:

Rohan Dennis

TDU 2015 winner; 2020 Tokyo Olympic Time Trial bronze medallist, has worn the leader's jersey in all 3 grand tours

Will ride as an individual in Team Jumbo Visma's colours @ SFOC 2022

Richie Porte

Rides for Ineos Grenadiers TDU 2017 and 2020 Winner; Tour De France 2020 3rd place Will ride for Team Garmin Australia (National team) @ SFOC 2022

Luke Plapp

Rides for Ineos Grenadiers Will be his first season with a WT team in 2022 KOM Jersey winner and Stage 2 winner @ SFOC 2021; Bronze Medallist as part of Track Pursuit team at 2020 Tokyo Olympics Will ride for Team Garmin Australia (National team) @ SFOC 2022

Chris Harper

Will ride for local team Villawood in his Team Jumbo Visma's trade team colours @ SFOC 2022

Simon Clark

Does not currently have a WT team for 2022 Winner Climbers jersey Tour of Spain 2012. Winner of 4 Grand Tour Stages Currently rides for UCI

Cameron Meyer

Team BikeExchange-Jayco TDU 2011 Winner Nine-time World Champion on the track

Luke Durbridge

Captain of Team BikeExchange-Jayco Defending Santos Festival of Cycling Champion