Delegations and By-Laws


Councils have certain duties which they must perform, and certain powers which they may exercise, pursuant to the Local Government Act 1999 as well as a range of other Acts.  In most cases the relevant Acts grant those duties and powers directly on the Council as a body. 

It is not practical or efficient for the Council as a body of elected members to perform the many functions or undertake the many activities that are required in the day-to-day administration of Council's roles and functions. Delegations are the way in which the Council enables other people/bodies (usually Council officers) to undertake these steps on its behalf.

The Council may elect to delegate its powers and responsibilities to the Chief Executive Officer who may then sub-delegate his or her powers and responsibilities to other responsible staff. The Council may also delegate its powers and responsibilities to a Committee of Council.

Council delegates powers and duties under the various Acts via a formal Instrument of Delegation.  A copy of these instruments and the sub-delegations for each Act are available here.



Councils in South Australia are able to establish by-laws, under the Local Government Act, 1999.  By-laws are local laws established by councils to deal with issues specific to the relevant council area.

The Adelaide Hills Council currently has seven by-laws, which apply only within the Adelaide Hills Council's boundaries. 

By-Law No 1 - Permits and Penalties 
By-law No 2 - Moveable Signs 
By-law No 3 - Local Government Land 
By-law No 4 - Roads 
By-law No 5 - Dogs 
By-law No 6 - Cats